In this post, you’ll learn how to detect if someone restricted you on Facebook Messenger.
Someone is not responding to your DMs or calls lately? Then maybe you should consider the fact that this person restricted you on Messenger.
No big deal, however, this person might take longer to answer because he/she won’t see any of your activity or status.
Let’s dive right in!
What is the restriction feature on Messenger?
Facebook Messenger offers users the ability to customize their interactions through Messenger with privacy features.
One such feature is the “Restrict” button, which is available exclusively in the Messenger app.
This button lets you control how you engage with others without blocking them from the platform.
Utilizing the “Restrict” button has a number of effects.
You won’t be able to see chats with the restricted user, nor will you receive notifications from them.
Additionally, neither you nor the restricted user will be able to view the active status of the other.
Furthermore, you won’t be able to tell whether or not the restricted user has seen your messages and calls and texts will also be disabled.
The restricted user also won’t be alerted that you have restricted them.
By making use of the “Restrict” button, users can take control of their interactions and have the peace of mind that they are protected from unwanted contact.
What happens if you’re restricted on Facebook Messenger?
If one of your friends restricted you on Messenger, you’ll be barred from communicating with them.
Your messages will go unnoticed and your calls will go unanswered. Furthermore, you won’t be able to see their Activity Status or their Read receipts on Facebook Messenger.
This can be an incredibly difficult situation, as it can be difficult to know why you’ve been restricted.
It’s important to remember that this doesn’t necessarily mean the other person no longer wants to talk to you, as there could be any number of reasons why they put you on restricted.
It’s best to approach the situation delicately and try to make contact in a respectful and understanding way.
3 ways to know if someone restricted you on Facebook Messenger
No Activity Status Displayed
When it comes to having been restricted on Facebook Messenger, there are a few tell-tale signs that one can look out for.
First of all, you may notice that the activity status of the user who has restricted you no longer appears on your friend list.
This is an indication that they have put you on restriction.
Furthermore, you may also find that you are no longer able to see their last active status.
In order to find out for sure whether you have been restricted, you can try asking a mutual connection or friend to check the person’s Messenger “Active status”.
If they are able to view it, but you are not, then it is likely that the user has restricted you.
If you have multiple accounts, you can also use a different one to try and gain access to their active status.
Additionally, it is also possible that the user may simply have turned off their active status.
The user doesn’t answer your Messenger DMs
It’s possible that the person you’re trying to reach isn’t responding to your messages due to the fact that they’ve restricted your access to their Messenger account.
When this occurs, your conversation with them will completely disappear from their end (at least the notifications), meaning they won’t be able to see any notifications coming in from you.
To make sure this is the case, it’s important to check their activity on Facebook.
The user’s Facebook account won’t be affected by the “Restrict” button on Messenger, so you can view their profile page to see if they’ve posted anything recently.
If they are active on Facebook but aren’t responding to your texts, then it’s likely that they’ve blocked you from messaging them.
The read receipt doesn’t show up
A person’s ability to view read receipts on Facebook Messenger can be affected if that user has been restricted.
This means that the user will not be able to receive read receipts because the messages need to be accepted by the other person before they can be seen.
In addition, if you are sending a message to someone who has restricted you, you can tell by the symbol displayed beneath your message. Instead of seeing a “Read” label, you will see a shaded blue checked circle, which indicates that the “Restrict” button has been used.
Read also: 9 Best Free Planning Software
Restricted or blocked on Facebook Messenger: Differences
It’s often confusing to people when they’re restricted or blocked on Facebook Messenger.
Although the outcome of either one is the same – being unable to contact the other person – the ways in which it happens are different.
When someone is restricted, it means that the person who restricted you doesn’t see the notifications or the latest chats. Basically it’s between a mute mode and a blocked mode.
When someone is blocked, it is a much more drastic measure. The blocked person cannot see the other person’s profile, posts, stories, or messages. This is often done when someone no longer wants any contact with the other person, as it is a complete cut off of communication.
At the end of the day, it’s important to remember that being restricted or blocked on Facebook Messenger is a personal decision that should be respected. It’s important to not take it personally and to move on.
Read also: Screenshot Facebook Story: notifications and privacy guide
How to tell for sure if you have been restricted on Facebook Messenger?
It’s not always easy to tell if someone has restricted you on Facebook Messenger.
Unfortunately, if someone has chosen to restrict you, there is no way for you to know.
However, you will not be able to see the activity status of someone who has restricted you.
This means that, even if someone is online, you won’t be able to see their activity status.
This is one of the many ways that people can maintain their privacy on Facebook Messenger.
By restricting certain users from seeing their activity status, they can decide who they want to share that information with. If someone has restricted you, it may be a sign that they don’t want to share their activity with you.
Restricting someone on Facebook Messenger is just one of the many ways that people can control their privacy.
From choosing who can see their posts to blocking certain people from messaging them, users have the power to decide who can see the information they post.
Facebook Messenger gives users complete control over their privacy, so if someone has restricted you, it’s important to respect their wishes and move on.
You’ll also like: