In this post, you’ll learn how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.
Cyberbullying, like real-life bullying, is a phenomenon, and it’s a severe one.
And, considering how easily accessible the internet has just become, things are quickly spiraling out of control. Instagram is not immune to this problem.
That is why, in 2019, they created an anti-bullying function to help regulate it. You may use this feature to restrict a user’s access to your profile and regulate what they can do with it.
This article will explain how Instagram’s Restrict function works and how to tell if someone has restricted you on Instagram.
What does restricting a user mean on Instagram?
If a user irritates you while using Instagram, you can block them.
However, blocking someone might be considered impolite, especially if the person is well-known or a distant relative.
This is where the new Restrict feature comes in.
You may use this to limit the user’s interaction on your profile without banning them.
Restricting a user on Instagram has the following advantages:
- Messages sent by the user will be sent to the DM’s request area, and Instagram will not alert you.
- Your Active Status will no longer be visible to the user.
- All subsequent comments made by the user will be hidden from the public. Instead, it will only be visible to the user.
3 Signs to Know If Someone Restricted You on Instagram
For obvious reasons, Instagram does not send any notifications to users who are restricted.
There is no formal way to find out whether you have been limited by someone. However, with some careful study, you can figure out what’s going on.
Below are several methods for determining whether or not someone has restricted you on Instagram.
Send this person a message
This method, however, takes a little longer to confirm your suspicions.
Visit their profile and send them a message.
If the message goes unnoticed for an extended period of time, it most likely landed on their message request page.
And this lends credence to your suspicions.
It’s absolutely conceivable that the person has been inactive for a while and hasn’t seen the messages, but if the individual uses Instagram on a daily basis, this is quite improbable.
As a result, in order to dispel any remaining concerns, we will go to the following approach, which will need an additional step but will undoubtedly validate all of your assumptions.
Check their status to know if you’ve been restricted
This technique might not be the most effective but you should definitely try it out.
If an Instagram user has restricted you on Instagram, you shouldn’t see its online status.
This technique works well if you know that this person is online often.
If now, you don’t see the green dot anymore, then you might have been restricted.
Also, if you can’t see when was the last time the person was online, you might have been restricted as well.
Try commenting on a post
If you have been restricted by someone, you will be able to comment on the post, but this comment won’t be visible to anyone but you.
So the best technique here would be to add a comment to any post of the person you’d like to check.
Once your comment is added, login to Insta with another account and check if you can see your comment on the post in question.
If you can’t see it, you might have been restricted by this user.
How to Know If Someone Restricted You on Instagram DMs
To know if someone restricted you on Instagram DMs, you can easily check their status on Instagram.
Indeed, if you can’t see their online status or their last connexion, then you might have been restricted on Insta.
Another technique is to check if you can see the read status on your latest DMs to this person. If you don’t see it after a while, you might have been restricted.